Barack Obama has once again let people in on his version of the sounds of summer with his annual playlist for the season, featuring songs including Luke Combs’ “Fast Car”, SZA’s “Snooze” and Otis Redding’s classic “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay”.

The former commander-in-chief selected 41 songs for the list, which he posted on his Twitter account on Thursday, representing genres ranging from folk to rap to pop. Among the chosen ones that drew attention on social networks: “Princess Diana” by Ice Spice and Nicki Minaj and “Not Strong Enough” by Boygenius.

Ostensibly an ode to threesomes, Janelle Monae’s “I Only Have Eyes for 42” also made the cut, which the entertainer noted on her Instagram stories: “Barack knows what’s up!”

But Obama also included more traditional songs on the list, such as Aretha Franklin’s “Doctor Feelgood” and a live version of Leonard Cohen’s “Dance Me to The End of Love.”

Other artists who made the list include legendary rapper Nas with “The World is Yours.”,Pearl Jam with “Just Breathe” and country artist Ashley McBryde with her song “The Devil I Know.”

Obama also included his summer reading list featuring titles like king: one life by Jonathan Eig and The bet by David Grann.

Leave a Reply